Happy New Year”

Standard

20121229-211620.jpg

Happy New Year! So many people this time of year make New Years resolutions, some may stick to the promises they make. Others it gets put in the too hard basket. This is a real shame, the things that make us unhealthy, the things that people proclaim they’ll give up are the perfect prevention to a myriad of health problems.

Many moons ago when I was a nurse I looked after people who sadly through obesity and sedentary lives ended up with type II diabetes and peripheral vascular and neurovascular disease (they go hand in hand in later stages of the disease). As a young student nurse it was my job to prepare this one male patient for his up coming amputation of his lower left leg. Having listened in my lectures about patients might (and rightly so) be upset, angry about the loss of a limb, nothing prepared me for this man saying he could not wait for the blasted thing to be cut off. He was in agony and was happy to see it go.

Later in my nursing career I did a stint in palliative care. I looked after the most gorgeous man. He had been smoking since he was 13 years old. Now in end stage emphysema in his late 70’s he was paying a horrible price. I looked after George almost every shift for the last 3 months of life…… It was horrible to watch. I can not even imagine how his wife, children and grandchildren felt, let alone how George felt. George told me closer to the end that he felt like he was drowning in cement. He asked me never to take up smoking. It was his biggest regret.

This may sound morose but those two experiences have shaped how I feel about my health. When I am old, grey and wrinkly I want to be the kind of grandma who is travelling the world with my husband. Visiting my children and grandchildren, spoiling them only as Grandmas can.

I guess what I am saying is that, sticking to your 2013 NYE promise, may be tough for a while, you may break every now and then….. But stick to it. Baby steps for those habits that you are trying to change. It will be worth it in the future.

I sincerely hope that 2013 is a fantastic year for you all and that it brings love, happiness and fulfilment in your days.

😘😘

Leave a Reply

