Training through injury – you don’t have to stop!

Standard

For those who know me personally they know why I am writing this post. I have been managing a shoulder injury for almost 12 months now and finally had surgery. It’s with great happiness that I had no soft tissue damage, did unfortunately have my capsule and AC joint shaved back, however my recovery will be much quicker than I anticipated. For the next month I can not raise my arm above my shoulder. Do any weight bearing exercise using my arm and generally keep a gentle ROM on my right arm. Again for those who know me, also know…. this is quite difficult for me to do. I rarely stop. I like to keep active, I like keeping busy and I as a general rule rarely ask for help. Which, I have to admit is a big bummer for me at the moment!

It’s been not even 2 weeks post op and I am freaking out as I can not train how much I want to train. I am lying in bed at night thinking of ways to keep up my fitness so I do not become deconditioned. So, got on the net and did some research and decided to share some with you. Once you start exercising at some point you possibly will experience an injury. My concern for those of you who have just started an exercise program is that you will stop moving. No longer be motivated and not get back into it. SO… here it goes!

 

Firstly, if you get an injury the first aid is:

R – Rest

I – Ice

C – Compression (bandage)

E – Elevate

Then seek advice –Β Before you start exercise again you should of course speak to your Physiotherapist or Doctor and gain permission and guidelines from them.

 

Studies have shown that you can maintain your fitness if you exercise for at least one hour at 70% Max HR x 1 per week. That does not have to be in one block. Be creative, if you have shoulder or elbow injuries, get on a spin bike in the gym. Go for a brisk walk. If it is your ankle, foot, knee. Get in the pool and swim. Do upper body weights. You may even be able to get on a spin bike or rower depending on your injury and what your Dr or Physio says. Listen to the professionals, they went to Uni for a really long time and know what they are talking about!

Listen to your body, you do know it better than anyone else…. but do not use it as an excuse to STOP!! Keep moving, but BE SENSIBLE. I am definitely guilty of pushing myself through injury and I have paid a hefty price. I now am forced to be more sedentary than I choose, I am however listening to my Dr and Physio and doing as I am told. I promise!! πŸ˜€

 

11 responses »

  1. I’m taking it you’re not in the UK? I’ve just had injuries all summer 😦 A broken big toe (16 weeks to knit 😦 ) and a broken wrist which had to be wired just before that. I didn’t get referred for any physio – I’d agree for the wrist as the surgeon said normal day-to-day stuff around the house provides all the movement you’d need – I’ve since strengthened it in the gym so I can resume climbing soon. But, as for the toe, I got no advice and was discharged from seeing anyone 10 weeks into the break when it still wasn’t healed up and had only just started to knit.

    So I’ve gone from never going into a gym before (I usually exercise outdoors) to being mainly confined to one doing ‘non-impact’ exercises.

    Our surgeons in the NHS simply don’t seem to have enough time to even advise us what we should be doing. I had no idea whether I should be walking much on my foot or not.

    Anyway, I can certainly sympathise with your situation – it’s very frustrating isn’t it?

    • I’m in Australia. Luckily I have private health insurance so I get pretty good advice. Fracture recovery is generally slow particularly in toes etc as bones don’t have their own blood supply. Be guided by how you feel. If its sore don’t do it. May take 6 months before you start to notice a change. Weight bearing (within limits) is actually beneficial as it helps the bone become denser. But obviously be sensible. At the gym you go to us there a pt you can talk to??

      • Luckily, it’s finally healed up after 16 weeks. It’s still playing up a bit as in swelling. I took up weight-bearing exercise (actually went back to hill-walking) on the 10th week as I got fed-up and impatient. I think it actually did more good than harm as the 10th week, after doing the hill-walking and upping my mileage from pottering around locally to about 8 miles, was the week it finally started to feel a bit better and began to knit up.

        It’s hard to know what it does and doesn’t like though as it never really hurt to begin with so I haven’t much to go on.

        I’d love to visit Australia one day πŸ™‚ It would be nice to be somewhere warm and dry!

      • You’re doing all the right things, let your body guide you. You’ll be fine!
        Yes, Australia is great! My brother lives in the UK now, has done for 20 years. Think he really misses it sometimes.

  2. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog site?

    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a
    little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear
    idea

Leave a Reply

