Training – Becoming who you want to be.

Standard

Change comes from pushing yourself outside your comfort zone.

I often get told, you’re so fit, how do you do it? Answer – I work really hard! Not only with my training but what I eat also.

There seems to be this misconception that being fit, being strong comes overnight, or from some magic pill. It doesn’t. I’m not sure if its because some tacky celebrity says when interviewed “No I don’t diet, I eat what ever I like and I go to yoga once a week”….. Hmmmm RUBBISH! Anyone who regularly exercises will tell you it takes dedication. That to see results, you have to work hard.

Do I have my off days? You bet. Just have to ask my PT….. he’ll say an emphatic yes! I have days where I want to cry, when I want to throw in the towel, due to my PT ramping it up. Does he let me quit… never! I am glad he doesn’t, I would be so disappointed in myself if I gave up. The pain of quitting would be far greater than the brief moments of pain in the gym.

I’ve posted a quote previously from Nike, it is perfect and its worth repeating. It’s worth printing off and putting on your fridge.

“You don’t get it by staring, you don’t get it by wishing, you don’t get it by drooling, you don’t get it by hoping, you don’t get it easy.”

“You get it by getting off your arse, working for it every second of every day for the rest of your life”

I tell my clients and my kids, you only get one body, you spend the majority of your life as an older adult. Why would you not do everything to look after it?

Leave a Reply

